How much silver is in a nineteen sixty four quarter?

1964 was the last year the U.S made silver quarters. They were a purity of 90% silver content. The other 10% consisted of other alloys to make the coin strong. A 100% silver coin would be too soft and would not hold up to circulation. In 1965 the U.S switched to clad coins with no silver content.