What's m. k. ultra?

MK-Ultra was a top-secret CIA project in which the agency conducted hundreds of clandestine experiments to assess the potential use of LSD and other drugs for mind control, information gathering and psychological torture. Details of the illicit program didn’t become public until 1975.