How many tea bags do you need to make a gallon of iced tea?

General rule of thumb is one tea bag per cup. A gallon is 16 cups, which is equal to 128 ounces. A teabag contains 2 to 3 grams of tea. It takes approximately 28 grams of tea to make a gallon, so you would need 9-14 standard teabags for a gallon of tea, depending on how strong you like it.