What are the ben's in scuba diving?

The bends, also known as decompression sickness (DCS), occurs in scuba divers or high altitude events when dissolved gases (mainly nitrogen) come out of solution in bubbles, forming gas bubbles in the circulation, and can affect just about any body area including joints, lung, heart, skin and brain.