What are potatoes al groton?

Potatoes Au Gratin generally refers to a dish of thinly sliced potatoes topped with cheese. The verb “to gratinée,” as used today, means to give a dish a golden brown top. The word gratin is often given alternative and incorrect definitions including that the term au gratin translates “with cheese.”