Can seagulls smell?

While most birds lack much power of smell, there are some groups of birds that can locate food using their olfactory glands. Extensive research into bird senses has shown that vultures, seabirds, kiwis and parrots have well-developed olfactory glands, giving them some sense of smell and taste.