How do clams procreate?

Sexual reproduction is characterized for clams. Fertilization can be both internal and external. For bivalves, it is external. They sweep the eggs and sperm into the water, where fertilization occurs. Internal fertilization is possible in gastropods: two individuals exchange gametes and lay eggs.