Which one is hotter the sun or lava?

The sun. Lava is indeed very hot, reaching temperatures of 2,200° F or more. At its surface (called the "photosphere"), the sun's temperature is a whopping 10,000° F! That's about five times hotter than the hottest lava on Earth.