Tell me about chernobyl?

The Chernobyl explosion was a nuclear accident that occurred on April 26, 1986 at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant near the city of Pripyat in what was then known as the Ukrainian SSR in the Soviet Union. It is believed that the core explosion was due to a reactor design flaw and operator error.