How accurate is groundhog day?

PUNXSUTAWNEY PHIL is accurate ABOUT 40% of the time. If you go by the calendar and the spring equinox, there are always six weeks of winter left after Groundhog Day.

---

The animal prognosticator has been at it since the 1880s. Records kept by the Punxsutawney Groundhog Club show Phil has predicted 105 continued winters and only 20 early springs. According to the Stormfax Almanac, that works out to a 39% accuracy rate for Phil.