Where was kiwi discovered?

China: The original fruit is from the Far East, having been grown in China for many centuries. It was only at the turn of the 20th Century, in 1904, that it arrived on New Zealand shores, when New Zealand school principal Isabel Fraser brought some kiwifruit seeds back from her travels.