What is a date set of a single type of coin?

A Date Set is a complete set of coins of the same type, with a sample from each date that particular coin was minted. For example, all Lincoln pennies minted from 1909 to 1958 had 2 wheat stalks on the back. A date set of "wheat-back reverse" pennies would include a coin from each of those years.

---

The same coin may be minted by mints in different locations; a date set of a single type of coin includes a collection of coins from each mint made during that year.