What does n. i. a. mean?

N-I-A can mean many things. As initials, it can be National Institute on Aging, National Irrigation Administration, National Imaging Associates, or many other things. As a name, if it's not short for something longer, it's from Welsh, meaning "Bright," or from Swahili, meaning "Purpose."