How do you get nail polish off if you don't have nail polish remover?

If you don't have (or don't want to use) nail polish remover, you can soak your nails in a mixture of vinegar and citrus juice, or a 2:1 solution of hydrogen peroxide to water. Alternately, you can scrub at it with toothpaste or anything with alcohol, preferably isopropyl (that is, rubbing alcohol).