Where did the term lickety-split come from?

The term 'lickety-split' was first attested about 1860 in the United States as an alteration of the word lick and the verb split. In the early 19th century phrase 'as fast as lickety' meant at full speed. It is conjectured that the term was associated with the "lick" of a whip used to speed animals.