What is a high ph?

In chemistry, pH is a scale used to specify how acidic or basic a water-based solution is. At 25° Celsius, solutions with a pH less than 7 are acidic, and solutions with a pH greater than 7 are basic. Strong bases have high pH levels in the range of 12 to 14.