Can a fire eel kill you?

The fire eel is not a true eel, but an extremely elongated fish with a distinctive pointed snout and underslung mouth. It is part of a group of fishes called spiny eels. When caught the fish may hurt hands with its spines. Spines themselves are not poisoned, but the slime they produce is toxic.