What kind of dog is old yeller?

Old Yeller in the novel is described as being a "yellow cur". It has been claimed that the dog was actually modeled after the Yellow or Southern Black Mouth Cur. In the Disney movie, Yeller was portrayed by a yellow Labrador Retriever Mastiff mix.