What's the definition of steeping tea?

according to wikipedia,Steeping is the soaking in liquid (usually water) of a solid, usually so as to extract flavours or to soften it. The specific process of teas being prepared for drinking, by leaving the leaves in heated water to release the flavour and nutrients is known as steeping.