Is dark sonic real?

Despite only appearing in one episode, Dark Sonic is one of the most popular characters in the series being included in fanart, fan movies, fanfiction, etc. Fans have asked about his inclusion in the Archie Comics, but Ian Flynn has stated that he does not consider Dark Sonic a true transformation