Is canola and vegetable oil the same thing?

No. Although canola oil and vegetable oil are both plant-based oils—canola oil comes from the rapeseed plant and vegetable oil is typically soybean-based or made from a blend of vegetable oils—they differ in their fat composition.

---

Canola is an actual plant and the oil from it is called rapeseed oil. Vegetable oils are a group of fats that come from some seeds, nuts, cereal grains, and fruits.