Who is the hat man?

an entity that is described as a man wearing a wide-brimmed hat, and a long trench coat. the entity seems to be drawn to, causes, or predicts misfortune, bad luck, ill-health, or even death. the Hat Man has been reported to make himself visible to the same family, or friends of the family.