Can fish suffocate?

Yes. If there is insufficient oxygen in the water, fish will actually suffocate.

---

Though some fish can breathe on land taking oxygen from air, most of the fish, when taken out of water, suffocate and die. This is because gill arches of fish collapse, when taken out of water, leaving the blood vessels no longer exposed to oxygen in air.