Which aircraft has a higher maximum speed?

The current holder of the air speed record is the US-built SR-71, which recorded a speed of 2193.2 miles per hour (3529.6 kilometers per hour) on July 28th 1976. There were other faster vehicles, but they either did not take off under their own power or were actually spacecraft, not aircraft.