What is the purpose of the i. r. s.?

The IRS administers the federal tax laws that the Congress enacts. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) administers the federal tax laws that Congress enacts. The IRS performs three main functions—tax return processing, taxpayer service, and enforcement.