How do you tell the difference between a male and a female pepper?

Describing peppers as a gender is not accurate, as bell peppers are hermaphroditic. There is a simple method for identifying which bell pepper has the traits you desire. Peppers with four lobes contain more seeds and are sweeter when eaten raw. Peppers with three lobes are better for cooking.