Do you have to clean spinach?

Fresh spinach usually has dirt and grit on the leaves and stems and should be washed. The best way to wash spinach is to fill a large bowl or pot with lukewarm water and hold a few clusters of spinach by their stems, swishing them vigorously in the water and then shake them to remove excess water.