How long is chernobyl uninhabitable?

Caesium-137 has a half-life of 30 years before it decays while iodine-131 is much more short-lived at just eight days. However, the stronger radiation around the power plant itself has likely rendered the immediate area of the disaster uninhabitable for 20,000 years

---

Chernobyl will be uninhabitable for 20,000 years, referring to the Elephant's Foot. In a broader sense, it is harder to pin down it will be until Chernobyl is completely safe.