How do you take care of an iris?

Fertilize iris in early spring with an all-purpose fertilizer scratched in around the plants. Replant or thin in the fall. Don't overwater irises; too much moisture in the soil can cause the rhizomes (roots) to rot. Keep rhizomes exposed on the soil. Plant in well-drained soil in full sun.