What is a boiler hat?

The bowler hat, also known as a billycock, bob hat, bombín or derby, is a hard felt hat with a rounded crown, originally created by the London hat-makers Thomas and William Bowler in 1849. It has traditionally been worn with semi-formal and informal attire.