When did we drop the atomic bomb?

The first atomic bomb was dropped by an American B-29 bomber on August 6, 1945, during World War 2 over the Japanese city of Hiroshima. The explosion destroyed 90 percent of the city and immediately killed 80,000 people; tens of thousands more would later die of radiation exposure.