What color is a king snake?

Common Kingsnakes are typically brown to black with light bands, bars, rings and sometimes speckles. The Scarlet Kingsnake, which is really a milk snake, is ringed with red, black and yellow and is often confused with the similarly patterned and deadly coral snake.