What's the science behind slime?

Slime is made from two components, polymers and crosslinkers. Polymers are long, stringy, stretchy molecules, such as those in rubber. Commonly used polymers in slime include glue and polyvinyl alcohol. Crosslinkers, such as sodium borate, tangle the polymers together to make the slimy texture.