Is cullen bohannon a real person?

The character is based on Grenville Mellen Dodge, a Civil War Major General, with a degree in civil engineering. As chief engineer of the Union Pacific Railroad, he wanted absolute control of construction. He is the person most closely identified with the construction of Union Pacific.