Who is pennywise the dancing clown?

Pennywise the Dancing Clown is the villain of Stephen King's 1986 horror novel, IT. A shapeshifting alien, millions of years old, it feeds on fear and the flesh of children underneath the small town of Derry, Maine in 27 year cycles.

---

Pennywise – or “It,” if you prefer, or “Pennywise the Dancing Clown” if you’d like to be very formal – is an all-encompassing evil being of varying shape and size that turns up in 27-year cycles (give or take) in the beleaguered town of Derry, Maine.