Who is pennywise the dancing clown?

Pennywise the Dancing Clown is the villain of Stephen King's 1986 horror novel, IT. A shapeshifting alien, millions of years old, it feeds on fear and the flesh of children underneath the small town of Derry, Maine in 27 year cycles.