How do you get a ax in animal crossing?

To unlock the axe recipe – basically the document required to craft an axe – you'll need to speak to Tom Nook in the Resident Services tent. Give him fish or bugs (the ratio doesn't matter) and he'll give you the recipe for a flimsy axe, which is the weakest axe in the game.