Is a firefly the same thing as a lightning bug?

The name firefly and lightning bug are both used to describe the Lampyridae family of insects, which use bioluminescence during twilight hours. "Firefly" is the more common term in the West and New England, while people in the South and most of the Midwest tend to say "lightning bug."