How many dynasties are there in china?

There are 26 dynasties in Chinese history. This is according to a compilation in the online encyclopedia Wikipedia. Dynasties in China did not reign in a linear, exclusive fashion, and there are cases where at any one time more than one dynasty ruled different parts of the vast country.