What's the difference between a liquid cup and a solid cup?

The volume of a "dry" cup is the same as a liquid cup. It should be noted that 1 cup of water has a weight of 8 ounces whereas a cup of a dry good like flour is less than 8 ounces of weight. The "dry" cup is designed such that a straight edge is used to level the powder at the top of the cup.