What is a cooley in baking?

A coulis is a thin sauce made from pureed and strained vegetables or fruits. It can be used as a base for soups or other sauces. Fruit coulis are most often used in desserts. Vegetable coulis are frequently used in meat dishes. Coulis is spelled C-O-U-L-I-S.