What is a nuclear fusion bomb?

A nuclear fusion bomb, usually called a hydrogen bomb, or simply the H-bomb, gets its blast from fusing hydrogen atoms into helium. This is the inverse process to the atomic bomb, which splits uranium or plutonium atoms.