Was george washington a spy?

Among other honorifics, George Washington—known as Agent 711 in the Culper Spy Ring—is often heralded as a great “spymaster,” and indeed, he was. Under Washington's astute watch, several networks of spies operated in both close-knit circles and far-reaching societies.