What is batman about?

What is batman about? Batman's story has him swearing vengeance against criminals after witnessing his parents Thomas and Martha murder as a child, a vendetta of justice. He trains himself physically/intellectually, crafts a bat-inspired persona, and monitors the Gotham streets at night.