What is the elder wands core?

The Elder Wand’s core is made of Thestral hair. There are no Ollivander notes to go by – it wasn’t a material he chose to work with – but we do know Thestrals have a strong connection with death, plus the magical properties of invisibility, flight, and an uncanny ability to find their destination.