Why are eggs considered a dairy product?

Eggs are a dairy product because of an association with the list of items produced on a traditional dairy farm. Food stores kept these related foods together in a dairy section of their stores which reinforced the connection. Describing dietary restrictions the word dairy is also inclusive of eggs

---

Eggs aren't a dairy product. Dairy products come from milk. Eggs do not. However, some people consider eggs 2 B a dairy product. There's a lack of consensus why. 1 theory is that when dairy farmers used 2 deliver milk and milk products to homes, they also delivered eggs, and the link stuck