What's the difference between pancakes and waffles?

Pancakes are cooked flat on a griddle or in a skillet. Waffles are cooked in a waffle iron, which gives them their distinctive texture of small squares. Waffle batter also has a little more sugar, for caramelization, and a little more fat to improve their crispiness.