What's the difference between a clam and oyster?

Clams have stout, oval-shaped shells where both halves are the same size. ... Oyster shells have a rougher texture than mussel shells and can be brown, white or gray. Oyster shells are a little more irregular in shape, too, especially when compared to clams or mussels.Mar