Tell me the history of socks?

Nobody actually knows exactly when we realized our feet were better off covered but the first historical reference to the use of "socks" was in 700 BC by the Greek poet Hesiod in his advice to farmers "And on your feet bind boots of the hide of the slaughtered ox, fitting them closely, for comfort.