What's the definition of a prairie?

A prairie is a very large open space generally flat and can be located in the middle of the United States. A prairie is full of grasslands.

---

A prairie is a large open area of flat or rolling grassland. Its name comes from the French word for “meadow.” You may have heard of the steppes in Asia, the pampas in South America or the veldt of Africa.