Who invented mittens?

Mittens the Kitten. Not really. The oldest existing mittens come from Latvia. These mittens are over 1000 years old. The mittens are part of a Latvian tradition where they are given to women entering marriage as a way to bless the new homes. Did you know that mittens are warmer than gloves?